The Thankful Mama

Valentine Gifts: Homemade Crayons

on February 10, 2012

I have been trying to find a quick and easy craft to make for Valentine’s Day for little ones. I toyed with the idea of knitting something (of course) but couldn’t find anything that fit my need for quick, easy and suitable for a toddler. Then I came across making your own crayons. I’ve seen this craft before, although I never made any myself as a kid. It’s a great idea, especially if you have tons of broken bits of crayons everywhere, which I happen to know someone who does!

For this project, I wanted to give it a Valentine theme…heart shaped crayons. I unsuccessfully tried making a mold myself using cookie cutters and tin foil…yeah…big bust. My result was a nice thin spread of melty crayon on my cookie sheet.

Second try…success! I found a candy mold that makes six heart shapes at Wal*Mart for $3.50. This was a fantastic deal considering the equivalent sells around 10 bucks everywhere else. It’s also small and can easily be stored. I decided to use similar colors of pinks, purples and reds and a bit of white crayon mixed in. I broke the crayons into pieces and layered the colors. I filled each reservoir up completely and let them sit in the oven at about 250 degrees for around 15 to 20 minutes, until the crayons were liquid. I was so pleased with the results! The heart molds made a perfect and smooth sided shape and the crayons just popped right out of the mold. For packaging, I found an assortment of lovely little boxes at the Dollar Store. They are small and, with a little coordinating tissue paper, should be the perfect fit.

Ican’t wait to make another batch in boy colors for my nephew. I think he deserves a set of crayons since he ( and by he I mean his mom) donated so many to my crafting experiment

For more info, there is a beautifully created tutorial here!

Primary Colors for a Boy

Leave a Reply

