The Thankful Mama

Purl Spiral Socks

on October 28, 2011

 

I have completed my first Christmas knitting project! I am pretty pleased with myself too. 🙂 This project is the Purl Spiral Socks from the book Big Book of Socks by Kathleen Taylor. I have made several patterns from this book and have enjoyed everyone of them. There are a wide range of patterns to suit any sock knitting mood you may happen to be in. From easy and basic to color work and beads, this book has it. There is also a handy reference section in the back for knitting different toe and heel styles. Toe up and top down patterns are included in this book.

I knit my Purl Spiral socks with Knit Picks Imagination Handpainted Sock Yarn in the colorway Evil Stepmother. It has beautiful hues of purple and red running through it. It definitely reminiscent of the colors of the Evil Queen’s dress in Snow White or even of Maleficent in Sleeping Beauty. It is soft yet sturdy and easily withstood a few rip backs. I modified the pattern slightly by making the purl spirals mirror images of each other. I was pretty proud of myself for trying something new and succeeding! It turns out it wasn’t very difficult at all to achieve this look and it was well worth it. The finished product is soft and warm and I’m sure my mother in law will enjoy them on a chilly winter evening…just don’t mention the name of the colorway!

 

Project Details:

Yarn: (2 balls) Knit Picks Imagination Handpainted Yarn

Colorway: Evil Stepmother

More details on my Ravelry page!

 

 

Leave a Reply

