The Thankful Mama

Primal Blueprint 30 Day Challenge: Day 27 & 28

on October 11, 2011

Here we are at day 27 and 28. We had a great weekend, beginning with a trip to Peltzer Farms Pumpkin Patch. We went with some friends and family and had a great time. We got to enjoy the outdoors and got in some good sun exposure. The pumpkin patch has lots of activities for the kids and we enjoyed petting farm animals at the petting zoo, riding through a cornfield on a little train and a pony ride. My little girl rode a pony for the first time, it was exciting. Just three months ago, she was afraid to get on one. I think it helped to have her little friend ride before her. She was all for it after seeing her having so much fun. I had to walk the pony loop and hold onto my little one, so mom got a nice spontaneous bit of exercising in! We bought some baking pumpkins and I am planning on making the Pumpkin Soup recipe from Mark’s Daily Apple. I also have a pumpkin pear soup recipe I’m eager to try as well.

My primal recipe of the week that I made was Coconut Pancakes for breakfast. It has been kind of fall like weather this week and I thought a little comfort food was in order. It was also nice to have something different for breakfast for a change. I love eggs, but, yes, change can be good sometimes! I was pleasantly surprised that these pancakes turned out so close in texture to regular flour pancakes. Not rubbery or dry at all. I also really liked the flavor. The cinnamon and all-spice gave it that perfect fall, pumpkin-y taste! Hubby and I agreed, though, that this is not something we would like to eat for breakfast often. It’s a nice indulgence. I was also happy to see that I didn’t experience any effects associated with a blood sugar rise and drop. No sleepiness or sluggishness that I would normally get from eating flour pancakes. Gotta love that!

Leave a Reply

