The Thankful Mama

Primal Blueprint 30 Day Challenge: Day 23 & 24

on October 7, 2011

Day 23 & 24 bring yummy new recipes and gasp exercise! I have been so jam packed with tasks to accomplish and chasing around my little girl that I haven’t really had a chance to sit down at the computer and keep up with all the challenge stuff going on at Mark’s Daily Apple. I don’t get much of a block of time to sit and read all the posts that are piling up in my blog reader. All of the major contests are starting to come due and there are so many great entries of recipes and workout videos that I really want to check out.

Speaking of recipes, I made up two recipes for day 23 and 24 that I was pretty impressed with and that got pretty good reviews from Hubby too. The first one I made was a crock pot chicken dish. I browned two large chicken thighs in butter and coconut oil and layered them with onion, half of a sweet potato and one apple. I used allspice, thyme, salt and pepper to season. After cooking for hours in the slow cooker, the chicken was juicy and tender. The little bit of apples and spice made it a perfect Fall weather comfort dish to have. My next recipe was, again, chicken. I made a soup full of aromatics for my sister, who was sick with a sinus infection. I simmered chicken drumsticks in a stock pot for several hours. I ran out of my homemade chicken stock so I used an organic concentrate. I just added everything in my fridge that need to be used. Some celery, onion and a few parsnips went in with sage, thyme and lots of garlic. The resulting soup was delicious and rich. It was cold and rainy outside, that may have made it taste better. My sister also loved it and I think it helped her sore throat.

I also got in my weekly Pilates class and it was a real muscle burner. I tried to really concentrate on getting an intense workout and pushing myself just a little bit harder. I was pretty sore at the end, but felt great. I also fit in a sprint session, completely spontaneous. It was a matter of trying to get from point A to point B in the rain while staying as dry as possible. Good opportunity for a good sprint! Thank you Mother Nature! 🙂

Leave a Reply

