The Thankful Mama

Primal Blueprint 30 Day Challenge

on September 13, 2011

I was so excited to see the Primal Blueprint 30 Day Challenge on Mark’s Daily Apple. If you haven’t heard of it, this site is one of the best and most informative nutritional blogs out there. Mark Sisson provides a wealth of information and motivation almost daily. It’s a fabulous resource for anyone interested in the primal/paleo or even just low carb way of eating and lifestyle.

I’m a day late in posting my start to the challenge, but better late than never. Hubby and I are both committed to adding on to our already primal/low carb eating plan. On May 14, 2011 we changed the way we have always thought of diet drastically and adopted the low carb-high fat approach to eating. This has done wonders for our overall health. In just 3 1/2 months I have lost about 30lbs (40 total including 4 weeks of weight watchers) and Hubby is down 50! I have had improvements in my skin, dryness and itchiness gone! I’ve had really intense itchy, flaky scalp for many years…gone with the sugar and starch. I also haven’t had a headache or digestive problems since giving up grains and sugar. Coincidence? I think not! 🙂 My husband and joke about how much energy we now have. We rush to clean up after dinner so we can take the baby and dog for a walk in the park and lament when we can’t go. I never have the 3pm slump that was so much a part of my day before. Also, we are both really motivated to increase our strength training. We actually enjoy physical activities instead of feeling like it’s something we have to do.

The Primal Blueprint Challenge criteria are all detailed on the blog. There is a whole list of do’s and don’ts and not to mention prizes! My personal challenges I would like to accomplish are adding sprinting to my walks, get more sun exposure and to make at least 2 meals a week from the Primal Blueprint recipes. I’m also hoping, for this 1st week, to get outside everyday and move or play. Last week was a bust for exercising due to my eye injury so I definitely want to get back into the swing of things. I’m planning on keeping up with my progress via my blog to help with the motivation to meet or exceed my goals.

I hope if anyone reads this and hasn’t given this way of eating a try or has never even heard of it to please check out Mark’s Daily Apple and the 30 Day Challenge. It’s the perfect way to get introduced to a healthier, happier, stronger and more positive you!

Leave a Reply

