The Thankful Mama

Knit Girl’s Summer Suit

on July 31, 2011

I finally finished a project! It seems like I knit and knit but can’t seem to complete anything lately. But here it is, a finished project! I have been wanting to make this particular garment since I was pregnant…well my little girl is almost 13 months. But, hey, it is summer!

This is the Girls’ Summer Suit from The Expectant Knitter by Marie Connoly. It’s a cute little pattern for a top and diaper cover. The top is open in the back and secured with a button at the neckline, allowing for an open swing design. It’s nice and cool, especially when worked up in cotton. I decided not to make the diaper cover for now, but I’m sure I’ll knit up another set with both pieces. It’s too cute not to! The top does, however, go great with shorts! The pattern is written well and pretty easy for a novice garment knitter, such as myself. I knit most of it on the go in the car. I made the 18 month size for my 12 month old and it’s a little snug. I definitely suggest going up a size, or two, but this is true for any baby clothing it seems! 🙂 Room to grow is the idea!
The yarn is a new one for me, Lion Brand’s Baby’s First. It comes in 8 lovely colors and it’s oh so soft. My only critique is it separates a little too easy. I’m thinking I’ll start from the other end of the ball next time and see if that helps the unwinding of the ply situation. A very minor bother and it certainly won’t keep me from using this beautiful yarn again.I think I could have done a neater job on the finishing, but it’s secure and wearable…and it’s for a baby…not going to sweat it too much! I love the button attachment technique. A small crochet chain on one side completes the button closure…so cute and girly! This is a really fun and adorable little project and I’m glad I finally got around to making it. I think we’ll get a lot of wear out of this one!

Project Details:

Yarn: Lion Brand Baby’s First

Needles: Size 8

Colorway: Fairy Tale #103 & Sea Sprite #146

More info on my Ravlery page

One response to “Knit Girl’s Summer Suit

  1. kathy vining says:

    Lovely Dahling, didn’t I see you in a painting?

Leave a Reply

