The Thankful Mama

Happy New Year!

on January 1, 2010

It’s New Year’s Day! Happy New Year! It’s a very quiet holiday for me and Hubby. We usually like to spend New Year’s Eve snuggled up inside the house with a champagne toast at midnight and then listen to all the neighbors clanging pots and pans…exciting isn’t it? Well, this year was the same plan except the baby decided that 10:30pm was close enough to midnight for me! We modified a little with apple cider and spent the evening watching Dr. Who. For me though, this was a great way to spend New Year’s Eve!
I have been trying to put together a mental list of the things I accomplished in 2009. My knitting productivity has slowed a bit but I still managed to accomplish:
3 pairs of socks, 1 pair half finished
14 washcloths, 4 Tribbles
5 hats for charity
1 four inch panel for a charity blanket
2 dog sweaters
1 hot water bottle cover
1 scarf
1 set of knitted sushi
1 valentine heart sachet
That’s not so bad after typing it all out. 🙂

In 2009 I read approx. 27 books. I’ve reviewed several of these in the “I just Finished Reading” page on the sidebar.

I have achieved two major goals one of them being to become a mother. 🙂 We found out in Nov. we’re expecting a baby due on July 4th!

My travels for 2009 included:
San Simeon, CA and Hearst Castle
San Francisco, CA
Lake Tahoe, CA
Las Vegas, NV

And finally some things I did for the first time or learned in 2009:
Went to a grooming expo

Taught myself to knit a sock toe up

Babysat my nephew alone

Participated in a protest

Participated in a political rally

Completed a 30 day juice detox program

Learned basic yoga

I’m very pleased with how 2009 went. I have so much to be thankful for! The most important thing I learned this year was how to keep and use a positive metal attitude and that “what the mind of man can conceive and believe, it can achieve” (Napoleon Hill) These ideas have helped me grow very much as an individual and to help facilitate success and happiness in my life. I no longer feel a slave to my negative thinking, I know I have the power to change my thoughts and therefore change anything in my life. I’m actively practicing feeling gratitude for all blessings in my life and always trying to recognize more things to be grateful for. I’m actively practicing keeping a positive mental attitude on a daily basis and consistently focusing on things I can and will do instead of letting my mind create ideas of why I can’t achieve something. I’ve only been practicing these ideas since Feb. of 2009, after 30 some odd years of doing the opposite. It’s a work in progress, but it’s so much fun and gratifying! I am a much happier and well balanced person because of it! Wishing everyone out there the best for 2010!

Leave a Reply

