The Thankful Mama

Christmas Is Wonderful

on December 26, 2009

We had a wonderful Christmas yesterday! It was beautiful weather in Southern CA, crisp and sunny. It was a day filled with delicious food, lots of family and fun gifts. Hubby and I awoke early to spend Christmas morning with my family at my sister’s house. My nephew is one and a half and we were really excited to see him find all his presents this year. He got up and I know he was wondering why Grandma, Grandpa, Auntie and Uncle were all at his house! It was so adorable when he came around the corner and saw all that Santa had left. He slowly came over, while cameras clicked away like paparazzi. He was a little shy at first standing near Auntie kind of wondering if it was OK to go near everything. Then all inhibition wore off and he was playing with everything! It was so fun to experience that.
We had a feast for breakfast. Scrambled eggs with ham, potato casserole, yogurt parfaits, biscuits and gravy, red velvet bread pudding…ugh I’m full again just writing this! šŸ™‚ I did come across a very good citrus butter recipe that was perfect on biscuits. I used 8oz. of good quality butter ( I love Kerry gold Irish Butter, it’s fantastic!), 1tsp each of grated lemon, lime and orange zest. The result is a fresh and aromatic bite of bread and butter.

Hastily thrown together yogurt parfaits

I was knitting spoiled by my sweet Hubby yesterday. I received so many great knitting accessories from Knit Picks, my favorite online knitting store. I’m set to start that log cabin baby blanket I’ve been knitting up in my mind! My in laws also gave us the sweetest little stocking stuffer, Hubby’s first baby ornament. I can’t wait to add it to our tree!
After all that bounty at breakfast we then enjoyed a delicious Christmas dinner with Hubby’s family. Brown sugar glazed ham, green beans, buttered carrots, sweet potatoes, baked potatoes and warm rolls filled us to the brim.
I’m so grateful to have such a loving and generous family to spend Christmas with. It’s so fun to play with my nephew and my in laws love and treat me like I’ve always been a part of the family. Christmas is wonderful and it’s worth every minute of the cleaning, shopping, long lines, traffic, wrapping until midnight, all day cooking and driving to multiple houses!

Leave a Reply

