The Thankful Mama

Knittin’ To The Oldies

on May 26, 2009

One of my favorite hobbies in knitting. I found myself needing something to do with my hands while I sat on the couch next to hubby as he played his video games. Most of them aren’t two player and I’m more of a hindrance than a help when I do join in. My character spends most of the time respawning after a frustratingly quick kill. I decided I wanted to learn to knit. It seemed to be the perfect thing to keep my hands busy while still being able to watch my hubby play through “insane” mode on Gears of War. It turns out that I actually really got hooked on knitting. I mean really! I quickly accumulated lots of knitting accessories including needles, tools, books, yarn, more yarn, and stylish project bags. My biggest breakthrough has been socks. I taught myself, and although not perfect, they can be put on and off feet and keep them warm. Mission accomplished right?

Since I love books and knitting, I must have a shelf full of knitting books…of course I do! Well, my latest find is a goldmine of knitting nostalgia. I just picked up 18 (no, that’s not a typo!) hardbound volumes of Stitch by Stitch. This is a set of 20 books full of knitting, crochet, sewing patterns and techniques from 1985, although it’s obvious what era they are from without having to consult the fine print! At first, I had a good chuckle flipping through the pages. Then my laughs became, “hey, this is kind of cute”, to “hmmm, how much are these things?” I love the 80’s, I am a child of the 80’s. My sis and I love laughing about all our bad clothes, hairstyles, toys and of course our taste in music, so this set of books really appealed to my fondness. But aside from that, let me also explain that these books are full of great how to’s and techniques that can be applied to countless projects. Some of the patterns are timeless and still look great today. But, I was most excited by the opportunity to learn some new skills and adapt some of the ideas presented into my knitting and sewing.

Maybe it’s the knitted vegetables for a hat, or the pattern for parachute pants and ski jacket…I don’t know exactly what was the deciding factor, but they are mine! And the best part…I got them for under a buck a piece at the thrift store. Legwarmers, here I come!

Oh Yeah!

Oh Yeah!

Leave a Reply

