The Thankful Mama

For The Love Of Reading

on May 19, 2009

I don’t know about you, but I love to read. Love, love, love to read! I enjoy books, magazines and my new favorite…audio books. I try to read everyday. My husband and I even had our first date at B&N! (Is it even necessary for me to raise the nerd alert?) Let me expound for a moment on the joys of reading, for me anyhow.

The library:

Oh, the library! I used to love going to the public library in the summer with my mom and sister, when I was a kid. Not only was it a refreshing oasis of air conditioning from the heat and humidity, but also it was full of books!!! The library was the first place I met Beatrix Potter and Peter Rabbit. They even had their own display cabinet with all the animals having tea. I can’t tell you how I wanted to climb in there and join them. I also became acquainted with Laura Ingalls Wilder, her family and the Boxcar Children, which provided me with hours of imagining and entertainment. My sister and I loved watching the 80’s kid’s show Reading Rainbow, and with pencil and paper (‘cause, you know, this is before the days of tivo!) quickly trying to copy down the book info so we could look for them at the library. I still love going to library, even now, without my mom having to tell me to! The books on the adult fiction and non fiction shelves have changed in their “awesomeness”, but I still manage to find something worthy of checking out and bringing home to keep my nightstand company for two weeks.

Audio Books:

So now I’m a big girl, in the 21 Century and I have an iPod. And guess what you can do with an iPod? You can download and listen to audio books…LOVE! Believe it or not, my mom was the first to introduce me to this addiction. Yep, she had an iPod before me, but heck, she had a lot of things before me…records, a crush on Paul McCartney, etc, etc.  My addiction is so bad that I panic when I leave my iPod at work or vise versa, forget to bring it home!

Some Of My Favorites:

So, I would like to recommend some of my favorite books. I’m sure they can be found in any format. And keeping with my theme of positive thinking, there are several that are conducive to keeping a positive attitude.  I hope these will provide you with the entertainment and enlightenment that they gave me

To get inspired: Success Through A Positive Mental Attitude by Napoleon Hill

To exercise your imagination: The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas

To learn something new: Lives of the Artists by Giorgio Vasari

For extra credit 🙂 : The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy

To do as the Romans do: The Masters Of Rome Series by Colleen McCullough

That’s probably enough for now, plenty of reading there. My plan is to continually offer book recommendations as a regular feature of my blog. Do you have any favorite books that inspire you to imagine, feel happy or learn something new? Let me know!


2 responses to “For The Love Of Reading

  1. MO says:

    Hello out there!
    I’m looking for the book “HARPO SPEAKS”
    by: Harpo Marx. If anyone has a copy lying around that they can spare, let me know.

Leave a Reply

